Leon Haslam voted BSN BSB Rider of the Year

Kawasaki star Leon Haslam has been voted BSB Rider of the Year by the general public, taking 27.07 per cent of the vote in the poll with young gun Bradley Ray in second place.

Haslam’s fight for the title, which ended in third, would have been unremarkable but his fight back from a fractured vertabrae at Knockhill, then that crash at Brands Hatch and the subsequent hugs with Shane Byrne stirred the emotions like nothing else this year.

Ray’s progress up the result sheet this year, on what was a fairly standard GSX-R1000, but nothing short of awesome, and it was reflected in the vote with the Suzuki rider taking 18.82 per cent of the ballot.

Six-time champion Byrne, who won his first set of back-to-back title this year, bagged third place with 14.21 per cent while Jake Dixon was a deserved fourth place with 12.14 per cent.

Josh Brookes, who took an almost-forgotten second place in the championship, came in fifth with 9.04 per cent with Peter Hickman sixth on 7.79 per cent.

Share this post